First off I want to say sorry if someone already posted this (which I'm almost cetain they have, but I didn't want to scan through 23+ pages of post).

I have been playing for about 18 months, I like to play metal and I'm now trying to develop faster downpicking. I found an exercise on youtube which I've had recommended to me by numerous different people. Using a metronome, I start at a comfortable pace (70-75 BMP), then I downpick 16th note power chords - starting at open E up to the 12th fret E then back down. After every completion of the exercise I am to increase the tempo by 1 BPM - the exercise is completed after ten sets, i.e.:

Mon: 70 - 80
Tue: 71 - 81
Wed: 72 -82

So on & so forth.

I pay very close attention to make sure to use my wrist and not my arm, but any time I get up to around 90 BPM, my bicep starts to cramp up & burn. I also make an attempt to downpick Master of Puppets at a tempo that I play cleanly, but at 86 BPM - I'm not even at half-speed. I have been told that I should feel it in my forearm but I don't. I am in exceptional physical shape (though I completely understand that I am training different muscles to work in a different way) & I don't want to hurt myself.

Any tips?

Also if someone knows some control tips for play gallops and downpicking at high speeds (Disposable Heroes to be precise), those would also be greatly appreciated...

Thanks to all.
Jackson JS30RR
Ibanez RG170DX
Squier Stratocaster
Dunlop "Grommet" straps, strap locks & .88 Tortex Jazz picks
Behringer V-Tone GM108 (15 watt)
Boss ME-70
METAL TIL DETH!!!
dont just step the speed up as soon as you feel you can go for a while at said tempo, get comfortable and play at that speed for a few days to a week, you will become even more relaxed and comfortable then. theeen you can step it up, but only a little