I'm a new guitarist, and the most I can afford at the moment is a cheap Starcaster and a little box amp.

If I saved up my money a bought really nice strings, would the sound quality be better?
Yes, but barely. Your next thing you need to save up for is a better amp, a "not that good" guitar, will sound alot better with a nice amp.
You can call me Aaron.

♠♣♥♦
Out on parole, any more instances of plum text and I get put back in...
What do you mean with "expensive" strings? Because a new set of nice strings will always do your sound good, but it won't suddenly sound like an american Strat, and type of amp also controls a lot of your sound.
Marginally better - there are 1000 other things that go into how good a guitar sounds, two of which are where the strings actually contact the guitar at the nut and bridge. Without seeing the build quality of your guitar with my own eyes, I'd say money would be better put to upgrading the amp IMO. And while you're saving up, work on the best free improvement to your sound - you.
After you upgrade the Amp and your skills, get new pick-ups
Guitars:
Fame Forum 3
Aria STG-004
Ashton Acoustic

Amps:
Bugera V22
Drive CD-10

Effects:
Boss ME-50

Quote by Kanthras
2/10

No fire extinguisher reference, unoriginal, no Militia flamebait, disappointing.

Bugera Users Militia
Last.fm
strings barely make a noticeable effect on sound, unless your replacing old strings that have become dull sounding
GENERATION 10: The first time you see this, copy it into your sig on any forum and add 1 to the generation. Social experiment.
Quote by lukegjpotter
After you upgrade the Amp and your skills, get a new guitar (if you have the money at that time.)

Fixed.
You can call me Aaron.

♠♣♥♦
Out on parole, any more instances of plum text and I get put back in...
saving up for strings whilst i appreciate you may be too young to work strings are only £5 or $5 for a decent set of dadario`s get exl 120s 9-42.
Last edited by ibanezgod1973 at Sep 4, 2009,