Ok ive been playing for about 6-7 years and ive always wanted to learn to tap but never really sat down to do it.So then i tried to and my tapping sucks lol.Idk if im doing it wrong or wat but wen i tap it make like a dink noise and the notes dont ring out.I thought maybe it was my action so i lowered the action really low on my epiphone but it didnt seem to help.My main bass is a warwick double buck and the action isnt to high but not to low.Any suggestions?
Quote by Damaged Roses
I don't really understand why basses have 24 frets, I mean, I've never seen a bassist playing more than the 12 fret.

My Gear-
Warwick Double Buck
Epiphone EB0
GK MB 210
Fender Rumble
I think you need to tap harder and keep the pressure on the string for a fraction longer. When you pull off, you have to make sure you pluck the string a bit.
Quote by Eddie's'Waitor
I Cum Blood?

warned.

To the TS. Stu Hamm has a few videos out on youtube on how to do this on bass. Worth checking out.
One time I tried recording a bass solo that's all tapped, I tied a rag around the nut to make the sound clearer.
Actually, tapping is the same as on guitar but it requires some more effort and strength on the fingering. The secret is how you remove the finger after the tap... you'll get there!

Regarding Rags on the nut... check a great guitar player called Jennifer Batten (played for JBeck and MJackson) and she's all about tapping and used a "dampener" on the guitar head, not a rag
Quote by The Sharkman
Actually, tapping is the same as on guitar but it requires some more effort and strength on the fingering. The secret is how you remove the finger after the tap... you'll get there!

Regarding Rags on the nut... check a great guitar player called Jennifer Batten (played for JBeck and MJackson) and she's all about tapping and used a "dampener" on the guitar head, not a rag

I can actually tap on a guitar lol cuz i can do eruption tapping but i dont play guitar at all.And thank you anarkee for warning that guy