When I write a song I always have a solo IN MY HEAD that would go great with the song but I do not know how to play it, as in, what notes to play. By the way, my style is metal. All help is appreciated
Quote by blue_strat
Learn theory.

Play guitar a lot.

Learn how to play other people's songs by ear.

this. it aint easy. i wrote my own site ALL ABOUT THEORY, ive been playing for 4 years, and still i cant take solos from my head and put them on the guitar.
My Gear:
Gibson Faded Flying V
"Dante's Inferno" Iceman
Fender Hot Rod Deluxe 112
etc.

Quote by freedoms_stain
I can't imagine anything worse than shagging to Mark Knopfler.

Maybe shagging Mark Knopfler, but that's about it.
^ I've been playing for 5 years, have reached Grade 7 and a Professional Diploma in Guitar, and am at university studying music, and I can't play what's in my head most of the time.
sing the notes out and find them on guitar

really.
"SO GLAD TO BE HERE I COULD JUMP OFF EVERY BRIDGE
BUT EVERYBODY'S GOT A ROPE AROUND ONE OF MY LIMBS
THEY'RE TRYIN' TO GET THEIR PIECE THEY KEEP ON TEARING ME APART
THEY WANNA GET INSIDE SO THEY CAN KICK AROUND MY HEART
"
Yeah, singin' works a lot of the time.

Also, the reason scales sound so good is because real musicians think their music in scales, so if you know your scales, find one that fits the chord progression and sing it and mess around with the scale, (with metal it's probly gonna be some kinda major or minor, nothin absolutely awkward or fancy) but don't be afraid to deviate from the scale you're usin if it sounds good, because chances are you're just thinkin a different scale.