I play mostly acoustic songs with open chords and barre's, and simple lead parts. But, for that I have my acoustic guitar.

My question is, what gauge of strings for the electric guitar are good for what I like to play? On the electric guitar, I like to play acoustic songs "metal-fied", playing the lead of the songs with distortion, and the chords as power chords (because i'm a beginner in Metal). Eventually, i'd like to play folk metal, power metal, epic metal, and the like. A few of my favorite bands are Sonata Arctica, Omnia, Nightwish, Korpiklaani, and Alestorm.
My guitar has a floyd rose bridge, and I regret buying it with a floyd rose on it. We're probably going to lock it soon.
the gauge is universal for most brands, but 10 gauge will get you through alestorm yarrghhh and lamb of god etc most drop d stuff just swell
Quote by Y00p
Are you looking for numbers, or brands/types?

Numbers. But if you have a brand to recommend, please do
Quote by toasticles
the gauge is universal for most brands, but 10 gauge will get you through alestorm yarrghhh and lamb of god etc most drop d stuff just swell

And through the lighter stuff?
to be honest i wouldnt have a clue for acoustic because mine still has the strings i bought it with, (in perfect nick a really good cheap ashton that sounds amazing for john butler songs), sozz i'm more of a metal-player and brand wise go for the one that costs in the middle- too cheap and they'll break easy and be **** for pickups, too expensive and if they do break then its a waste of money, just go for fender or a generic kinda brand last ones i bough where fender nickelplated steel 10 gauge for my muck about strat
Gauge wise
gauge 10-48 for E
gauge 10-52 for E dropped D
gauge 12-54 for C or D
gauge 13-56+ for B and lower

you can go lighter if you want lighter sounding chords and stuff, but generaly those gauges do it all for those tunings specified

Brand wise