I don't normally post in the forums so I don't even know if this is the right place to ask this, but bear with me.

I'm starting a progressive death metal band predominantly for Gojira covers, but to appeal to the high school crowd, we wanted to start with a deathcore song or two. Unfortunately, I'm a noob who learned how to play but never learned proper music theory, so I can't create a harmony right.

So my question is, how do you create a discordant harmony? Like the ones used in modern deathcore? For instance, the harmonies created by the low and high notes in Job for a Cowboy's "Entombment of a Machine's" tremolo picked passages? Or in the same passages in Suicide Silence's "No Pity For A Coward?" Or in the same passage in pretty much any deathcore song? Save Carnifex, who seem to use consonant harmonies more often than not.

And if I'm in the wrong place, help me out!
first find the key of the song
second right out the notes of key
third right out the notes your playing (hopefully within that key)
fourth, use the 6th, 2nd, 7th, intervals for very dissonance sounding harmonies
Thanks for the help, but honestly even some of that went over my head. I don't have an ear for the key of the song either. I can play, but I'm pretty much retarded when it comes to music.

But beyond that, thanks. I'll probably ask some I know whose more savvy than more for help.

Quote by KoenDercksen
Then he has to be able to find the key etc. ^^

And know what intervals are, etc etc., do you know that TS???

No, actually I've no clue. =.=

Quote by garyd7
You're playing deathcore to appeal to the high school crowd? :O

And yeah, at my school that's the more popular genre. Though I wish they'd open their eyes to some better stuff.
Last edited by herzeleid1995 at Sep 5, 2009,
Idk if this is what your looking for, but if you're looking to create a "dissonant harmony" (contradiction, lol) have one guitar play a melody and the other play the same thing just sharp or flat every note.