ok i am self taught and i managed to teach myself the major, natural minor harmonic minor, and melodic or jazz minor scales. i know all the chords that go with major and natural minor scales. but what chords go good over harmonic minor scales? would i just play in the minor key and if the chord contains the seventh scale degree of the minor key im playin in just make it sharp? idk but i wrote some awesome leads using harmonic minor scales but im not sure what chords to use? help please lol
minor 7th chords perhaps? They would go well.
Quote by necrosis1193
Somewhere in a concert hall in Sweden, you have just caused Yngwie Malmsteen physical pain. You also caused him to catch on fire.

Quote by frusciante.ve
I like that new song of theirs that goes all "peeeeeaaaas wiiiill comeeeeee toooo meeeee"

Just because you Seymour Duncan, doesn't mean you Seymour Dunshould
In the natural minor scale, the "5" chord is minor. That eliminates the possibility of having a dominant "5" chord resolving to the "1" chord (which happens in the major scale such as A7 - D). Ergo, musicians often play the "5" chord as a major or dominant chord when playing in a minor key. Instead of playing Em - Am, one would play E7 - Am to get that same sort of resolution. The difference between Em and E is that Em contains G and E contains G#. This is how the harmonic minor scale is typically used. One does not usually make a progression out of chords derived strictly from A harmonic minor. One would make a progression such as Am Dm Am C Am G F E7. That E7 comes from A harmonic minor, while the rest comes from A natural minor.

For several centuries, until the 1980s, the harmonic minor scale wasn't used to create leads and progressions independent of the natural minor scale; it was used to make the V7 chord in a minor key.

As always, I suggest that you read the theory link in my sig.
aha that makes good sense thanks for clearing that up! i understand now lol