Go to the bottom line if you want to me to get to the point...

Ive been trying to write my own songs for about 2 months. Im satisfyed with a song for about 2 days before I change it drastically or just scrap it.

So the biggest problem with my music (in my opinion) is the riffs. I have the most trouble writing them so that Ill enjoy them every time I listen. My chord progressions, interludes, bridges and what not are good to me so the point of this thread:

- Can anyone help me find bands to listen to or just certains guitarists that are good at riffing for progressive, experimental, metal music

Sorry if thats vague
the human abstract

Nocturne and Midheaven albums completly different... Nocturne is more metal.. Midheaven is very progressive

them and thrice are my favorite bands
trust me, I'm a professional
Quote by redoverblack
the human abstract

I find their riffs really boring and uninspired.

Listen to some early Metallica and Megadeth.
C4C
Please check out some of my original music and leave me a comment @ SoundCloud
(or in my profile!)

Progressive|Thrash|Math|Metal
Between the Buried and Me.
Meshuggah.
Necrophagist.
Quote by MoogleRancha

You sir, are a genius.

I salute you.

Quote by iwontwait
The bestowing of this thread on my life is yours. Thank you, Benjabenja.
Dream Theater.... uh, listen to some jazz if u wana get inspired as to what is possible in rif***e in your metal ...
"grateful is he who plays with open fingers" - Me

┌∩┐(◣_◢)┌∩┐

DO NOT CLICK HERE!
Arsis's albums A Celebration of Guilt and We are the Nightmare have some great riff ideas . Kudos to the guy who mentioned Necrophagist, their riffs are ridiculously technical though. Nevermore has some great clean clean and distorted riffs and leadfills in their songs.

The stuff before Dead Heart in a Dead World is all six string so you shouldn't have many problems dissecting it.
Legato and fluidity in your playing is where it's at

DJENT!!
ಠ_ಠ
Thanks for the bands Ill look in to them.