I am fairly new to the guitar scene (I've been playing roughly a month), and I have a few general questions.

I was completely inspired by the music of Led Zeppelin to pick up a guitar and start playing at the ripe old age of 21, and since I am pretty narrow minded, the songs I want to learn are strictly Led Zepp songs. That being said, I also understand the need to know the basics. So, for the last month, I've been learning/practicing basics chords, notes, scales, etc... Along with that, I've been practicing dribs and drabs of the following songs;
1. The Ocean
2. Whole Lotta Love
3. Black Dog
4. Tangerine
5. Over the Hills and Far Away

I can't play any of them all the way through, but what I can play is done pretty good. So, now for the questions.

1. How long should I be practicing a day? Since this is subjective, rank hours of day playing .. (Example .. 30 minutes a day = too little. 1 hour a day = sufficient .. 2 hours a day = ideal .. 10 hours = you might need a life, etc). I can usually fit an hour a day during the semester, and come winter break, <= 5 hours a day.

2. What should I be doing during the sessions to get the most out of my time? Right now, I practice chords (playing and moving from one to another), I play a few scales using all my fingers, and I practice the riffs and chords from the Led Zep songs I know.

3. What builds more speed? Scales or playing riffs? I've been considering playing the Black Dog riffsfor example to improve speed. This way, I 'll also be practicing specifically what I want to playing. Good idea/bad idea?

Thank You for your thought.
Time-wise, the best way to practise is actually to do it in 15 to 30 minute sessions throughout the day, not in one 2 hour or whatever block.