I guess title says it all.

I have never built an electric guitar before (although I'm not a complete woodwork noob) and I'm planning my first build.
My question today is: Is building a neck from scratch worth the effort or should I just try and acquire a ready-made (Squier?) neck and maybe just modify the headstock to my liking?
Also, I already know I have to chose the right neck according to which scale I plan to make the guitar. (I'm going for 25.5 inches)

What are your experiences building necks and what would you suggest based on these experiences (also considering this is my 1st build)?

I'd greatly appreciate any input on this matter.

Cheers,
WmH
Depends. If you can make a neck (well), then definitely do so. You can build the neck based on your preferences, and it'll be a lot more comfortable than a bought neck.
Quote by Tone Deaf
Someone has had too much jager in their slushy. :/
Quote by CL/\SH
First person on UG to be a grammar nazi and use the correct form of "your" in the correct context.

+ 70 virgins to you, my good sir.

Quote by Fassa Albrecht
Girls DO fap...I don't though.
Why not get some cheap wood and build a practice neck first, then you'll have some experience and you can make your own neck however you want it to be.
Impossible is Nothing
Definitely.
By making your neck, you get the whole experience; you learn everything you would need to do to make a guitar from scratch and you do it. After that, you're just cleaning everything up. You learn little things rather than HUGE things.

Do it.

Have a sizzlin day,
AJ
Quote by conor1148
who cares if they're drawn,

boobies

Gear:
Peavey Supreme 100W head
Crate 4x12 cab
Epiphone Les Paul Standard+
Modded Johnson Stratocaster
Go for a better neck. Maybe not on your first build, but for later stuff go WAY better quality than Squier
If a mortal stands before us
Strike him down with sleight of hand.
And if heaven rides against us
Then God himself must be damned.