A while back my Dad got me a starter kit, which we both knew would be very lower end. It's a Epiphone Special II.

My girlfriend's Dad has been playing guitar for 20+ years, and he's been teaching her. So I joined in and I started practicing and learning chords, i.e. enjoying playing.

They have quite a few guitars, and I would switch off between their two acoustic guitars; a Taylor Baby(My girlfriend has small fingers, but I don't) and a guitar that has a paint job that reminds me of the album cover for Maroon 5: Songs about Jane(It's a higher end guitar). They sound great. I really enjoy playing, I started being able to transition from the chord to chord; I was feeling it.

But then I come home, wanting to keep on practicing and develop calices. I tune my guitar, do my exercises and then start practing the chords; it sounds, bad. Bad partly because it's more difficult on my guiter for some reason, i.e. user error. But mostly because of the quality. I plug in the amp and it sounds a little better. It just kills my excitement and inspiration.

So the question is, should I get a better amp(Micro Cube perhaps?) for now and later on invest in a better guitar? Or go acoustic? What can I do now for the least amount of money? I'm attempting to save up for my own car(haha who isn't my age? ).

Based on my style preference for the better guitar in the future if I go that route, any suggestions?
The Killers, Maroon 5, Green Day, Muse, U2; mostly KROQ stuff.

P.S. I would have given links, but guitar center's site isn't working on my computer right now.
Well it sounds like you like acoustic better, but if you're playing the music you say you are, you're better off getting a new amp. Microcube would be a decent choice.
The Epi is not the worst guitar around. Maybe get your g/f's dad to set it up nicely and go for an amp first. Those bundled amps are pretty poor, usually.
I pick up my guitar and play
Just like Yesterday

T C Ellis Series 2 LP w/Skatterbrane Quiescence pups