i dont play bass that much. i play guitar. im a guitarist. but i own a bass and i want it to do more than collect dust so now i am playing like an hour of bass most days. how often should i change the strings?
Dean Razorback
Fender Strat
Epiphone SG Bass Short Scale
Walden D351 Acoustic
Digitech RP250
SHS 180 Watt
Quote by RubberPuppiessu
I know this guy who ruined a romantic moment with his girl by saying "I want your hole".
mine usually last me half a school year. so like 4 months i change them? something like that. yeh so id say prolly 4 or 5 months unless you get elixrs haha i had some on there for a year.
My name is Greg, use it.

Sarcastic

Angry

Hopeful
Depends on the strings and your preference; with my D'Addario's, I've gone 8 months and still had a good tone.
if you're not gigging or playing that much, 4-6 months. Unless you get really cheap strings
Peavey 6505+
Fender Hot Rod Deville 410
Fender Telecaster Blacktop
Gretsch G5120
James Jamerson-(the Motown bassist) has never changed his strings, because they had that great thuddy Motown Sound, and he had been gigging for well over 20 years with those strings.

So, really it all depends on the style of music you are playing. There is no true correct answer.
Signatures Are Stupid
I like to play hard rock and metal, so the fresh roundwound string sound is EXTREMELY important for my sound as a whole! I buy a new set every 2 months and in the 2 months I clean the strings 3-4 times in denatured alcohol for 12-24 hours. After that the intonation kinda goes south =P

Btw, I play on DR Hi-Beams strings, I had them recommended to me after I was dissapointed over a set of Rotosound that died after only a week's usage on me. The Hi-Beams are really great, bright and has a good thick sound to them!
Baaaaaaazz
If they break, change them.
Otherwise carry on with the strings you have until you don't like the sound and/or feel of them anymore.

It's a subjective thing really.