Hey,

I've been learning some basic major/minor scales lately. I've been working on all the basic major/minors in open position. I'm using the all-guitar-chords website for the scales im working on. Other than obviously improving technique, speed, etc. what should I be getting out of this? What scales should I focus on out of the huge list? Any insights would be appreciated! I'm basically just a self-taught semi beginner with about a year or so under my belt and I'm just trying to branch out.
Those scales are going to help you when it comes to improvising. Before jumping around and learning a whole slew of scales, make sure you can confidently play the ones you're learning. A good way to start is by learning the major scales in all keys and positions. When I say position, that means there is more than one way to play the scale on the fretboard. Once you've gotten those down by heart and can play them cleanly and confidently, then you'll want to learn about sequencing, which is adding melody to your playing. But for now, what you should probably do is learn those major scales really well, in all positions (not just in open position), and get really comfortable with those. Then depending on what style you want to learn (blues, rock, spanish guitar, etc.) you should look into other types of scales (for example: Spanish guitar usually uses the Spanish Gypsy scale in E). To give you somewhere to go after you've mastered the major and minor, look into pentatonic scales, blues style uses those kind.
Learn the notes on the fretboard on every string. Really, once you know the notes of a particular scale you won't have to worry about positions because you can find it anywhere in octaves.