ive been playingf for about 4.5 yrs and i feel like ive gon stale i know one scale inside and out and i feel like all i know how to do is apply blues leads to any song and it really gets annoying

no matter what scale i learn it ends up sounding blues when i encorporate it

maybe someone else has fallen in to this hole and i need advice on the way to get out
I know exactly what you mean. I've been playing for 2 years and I'm stuck on blues. Don't play distortion. Try playing more chords and learning different intervals. Get on the more Jazz side of Blues. Just do stuff differently than you have been. Listen to different artist, give the ones you don't like a shot. Just try to break out of it.
ei know all chords as far as major/minor/seventh and some augmented chords but whyat exactlt do you mean by intervals
Quote by boobinski
ive been playingf for about 4.5 yrs and i feel like ive gon stale i know one scale inside and out and i feel like all i know how to do is apply blues leads to any song and it really gets annoying

no matter what scale i learn it ends up sounding blues when i encorporate it

maybe someone else has fallen in to this hole and i need advice on the way to get out

start listening to other players maybe? if you only listen to blues and blues based music then your solos will sound bluesy.

i started listening to eric johnson. opened me up to new ideas. he still plays a lot of pentatonic stuff but in a different way, which is why i listened to him. he was using scales i new already. all his stuff for the most part is straight pentatonic and major/minor scales. now he does do some modal things here and there and has lines which seem classical at times but most of his solos are what i mentioned.
i like the stuf on your page and i can do the progressions and rythyms well its just when it comes to the solo it always sounds bluesy and i listen to all types of music