I know its a bit long but please bear with

For the past few months ive been playing with the pick tilted up, ie the side of the pick thats closest to the neck is tilted up. This has worked fine so far, but I just watched a Paul Gilbert video on youtube where he explains how he holds the pick tilted down, by kind of rolling his thumb forward.

1:54 here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CpJNUGHxC3M&feature=related

I know a lot of you will say just play how ever it feels more comfortable, but Im asking because theres two things im concerned with that you more experienced players might have some insight about.

first is that I play sitting down, since im still learning, and it occurs to me that if I start playing standing up, where the guitar will be lower, the lower the guitar is, the more id have to twist my wrist upward to maintain that upward tilt, whereas if the pick is tilted down it doesnt matter.

the other thing is that when I look at guitars with floyd roses, which I will be purchasing soon, I notice that on some of them the fine tuners stick out a lot, like on the floyd rose special that ESP uses, and it seems like the tuners would dig into my wrist/forearm if I played with the pick tilted up since id have to kind of curl my wrist up.

Anyways basically Im asking if these problems are actually anyhting to be concerned with, cuz If it is better to pick tilted down then Id like to start right away before I get too accustomed to the way im doing it now

thanks!
Last edited by subzero364 at Sep 8, 2009,
Quote by subzero364
I know its a bit long but please bear with

For the past few months ive been playing with the pick tilted up, ie the side of the pick thats closest to the neck is tilted up. This has worked fine so far, but I just watched a Paul Gilbert video on youtube where he explains how he holds the pick tilted down, by kind of rolling his thumb forward.

1:54 here http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CpJNUGHxC3M&feature=related