hey, im new to UG, I'm a bassist, I started playing about 7 months back, anyhow I am having a bit of trouble getting a good sound from my bass.

See my bass guitar is an indie IRK bass, which is essentially a copy of a rickenbacker 4001, I bought it because I love the look and sound of the rickenbacker but couldent justify spending 1500 dollars on the real thing, anyhow I have a tiny little amp, a Vox T-15. together they sound like sh*t, which is odd because rickenbackers and vox amps should sound nice (like the beatles, the who) the only way I can get the thing to sound half decent is if I turn everything down but keep only the volume and treble maxed, but it still sounds too wimpy.

I like to play stuff like the jam, the kinks, and as of recently franz ferdinand, arctic monkeys, could anyone recomend what I can do to give my bass some balls? im open to any suggestions besides selling my bass or switching pickups.
Last edited by 505 at Sep 8, 2009,
i play bass...im 14 i have a rumble 15 amp and a fender squier pbass...u probably need a amp that can handle the low frequency
505, I would recommend a new amp. Check the FAQ section for some suggestions of amps at a beginner's budget. If you want some suggestions for an amp, please give us a price to work with. A new, louder, actually bass amp will go a long way toward giving your sound some balls.
Fender 5 String Jazz Bass
Fender Precision Bass
Peavey TNT 115
EHX Bass Big Muff Pi
Daneletro Cool Cat OD V2 (excellent pedal)
Paul Reed Smith SE Custom Semi-Hollow
Peavey Classic 30
Vox V845 Classic Wah Pedal
Considering your sound and musical tendencies, I'd start trying out some Ashdown amps. Great sound and affordable.
Get a new amp, that should solve your problems.
Gear I Want:
-Boss GEB-7
-Boss LMB-3
-Boss CEB-3
-Korg Pitchblack
-Boss ODB-3
-Fender Road Worn 50s Precision Bass

Gear I Have:
-Peavey Millennium BXP =]
SWR WorkingPro 2x10C =D