I've been learning guitar for about 2 months on my Squier electric at home. When I take lessons my teacher picked an acoustic from his store for me. And recently, I discovered that my friend has a classical guitar. It's an Espana (don't know what model). So I borrowed it, took it to my teacher who replaced its strings. He told me that I was supposed to start on a classical, and now that I have it, I should do the bulk of my practicing on the classical.

So basically I'd be practicing with 3 different kinds at the same time. The classical with nylon strings are very easy on the fingers, but I find the tone a bit dull. The fretboard is really wide so it kind of messed up my finger "memory" with the smaller fretboard of the acoustic and electric.

Is it really a good idea to mix up my practice routine or should I stick to either classical or electric at home?
Well, honestly, a lot of great guitar players started out learning classical on those kinds of guitars. Basing my opinion off that, I think you should practice your routine and stuff on the acousitc / Espana, and do Electric during your leisure time.
There will be zero tolerance
For the creator of hallowed intentions
There will be zero tolerance
Fate is your deciding God
dude LISTEN to your teacher, try to learn flamenco/spanish stuff on the nylon guitar...its beautiful and different. i know alot of people say not to learn guitar to impress girls but if you bust out some romantic flamenco licks/songs omg hahahaha trust me cause i love flamenco guitar.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Up5qSOBF9Z8
this song is pretty easy and you see how beautiful it sounds
i LOVE taylor swift...oyes in a creepy way
o and please learn MUSIC and how music works aka music theory, not just tabs because you wont know why what your playing sounds the way your playing
Last edited by mechanix901 at Sep 10, 2009,
well if he is studying classical with a teacher there wont be any TABS Im sure
I have never met a decent instructor who uses TABS.