so ive been playing for over three years and i still cant do squeelies (pinch harmonics) similar to that of dimebag or zakk wylde, now i know a lot of people don't like these two guitarists but dont flame me for mentioning them.

i was hoping i could get some help from you guys on how i can get them to sound better, i can get the pinch harmonics (usually) but i just cant get them to squeel and its really annoying thanks.
Quote by Punk_Ninja

I was like "Shut up woman, Satch is playing"
Quote by Soul Power
Maybe instead of eating you, you and her could eat a drifter. Like, make it one of those things you do together as a couple.
Well it's a knack really. You have to 'catch' the the right way. Zack uses like .12 or .13 gauge strings on his guitar, and tons and tons of gain, which is why his squeal. I'm pretty sure Dimebag used a tremolo bar. What you do is you play an open string, such as the 3rd string, and push the trem down to lower the pitch, and pull it up slowly and when you do, hit a natural harmonic on the fretboard, and pull up on the trem, and it will 'squeal'.
thanks that was a lot of help. im pretty sure one of my problems is i dont use much vibrato when i try, and i dont have humbuckers
Quote by Punk_Ninja

I was like "Shut up woman, Satch is playing"
Quote by Soul Power
Maybe instead of eating you, you and her could eat a drifter. Like, make it one of those things you do together as a couple.
Quote by 30 30 150
thanks that was a lot of help. im pretty sure one of my problems is i dont use much vibrato when i try, and i dont have humbuckers

Shouldn't stop you getting the harmonics, however, with that set up you're never going to sound like Zakk- esp. with little vibrato!
A thing that i have thought about and i am not trying to talk something bad about zakk wylde because he seriously owns.
But if i would hand his gear to anyone that is good at pinch harmonics it could sound exactly the same.