I'm not a big pedal user though I'd like to get into it more. I just got an amp that has an effects loop and I want to try to take advantage of that. The only pedals I own are ehx metal muff, a vox volume pedal (which I feel is pointless...what's the point of a volume pedal), and an old digitech multi effects pedal. As you can see I have limited experience with pedals.

I want to know of any recommended reverb pedals. Also, is there such a thing as a pedal that detunes your notes? I'm confused whether a pitch-shifter or a detuner is the correct term I'm looking for. Basically I'd primarily use it to play songs in drop C when I'm in drop D. Is this possible?
There's no point in buying a FX pedals just to use your loop!

What kind of sounds are you really looking for? Anything specific, or just some cool sounds to give you a bigger sonic palette?

On your last question, there are a few pedals on the market that detune your guitar but they're universally expensive and so far, don't work well for full chords or sound very good..

A new one called the Morpheus DropTune is supposed to be the one exception - it can tune down your guitar without losing tone or sounding too 'digital' - but even that will only bring your entire guitar up and down like an octaver, not change individual strings' pitch. You'd need a Variax for that.

Plus it sells for $200 and unless it turns out to be as good as it promises you might as well just buy a second guitar for Drop C and get better sound quality for only a little more hassle.
does most people run there effects in the loop, eq, delay,chorus? P. S. going to see Lynch sat!!!!!!!
tone slut

Mesa Boogie Mini Rectifier
jet City 2112 Combo
Gibson SG Standard
Gibson Les Paul Studio
Fender Classic Vibe Telecaster
Quote by kyle62
There's no point in buying a FX pedals just to use your loop!