I try to jam to a backing track, but I'm having some troubles. It's the key that's giving my problems. When it says Key of C I can jam to C major right? Also, does that mean I shouldn't use a minor scale? What if it says C minor? Do I use a minor scale or drop everything down a half step? Could I use the pentatonic despite it being in major or minor?

I'm not really good at this stuff yet, but hope to be soon. Also, what is the best site for scales because some sites I go to say different notes.
if it just say C they normally mean C major, and you use the minor scales for minor keys. and yes, you can use the pentatonic since it's the same thing except it's missing two notes.
You can use any scale as long as its in the same key or a relative minor

Also, a minor scale doesn't mean playing everything a half step down. Not how it works. Doing that would make it a Cb
Gear
Jackson RR24M - EMG ALX w/ ABQ installed
Ibanez Xiphos - stock
LTD Alexi 600 - stock
Ibanex RG - Tone Zone(bridge), PAF Pro(neck)
Blackstar HT-20H
Fulltone OCD
MXR 10 Band EQ
If it's in C major, it means that it uses the notes of C major and resolves on C. You can still play minor over it, but it would have to be the relative minor to C major, which is A minor. They both share the same notes, but A minor resolves on A.

Minor is a major scale started on the 6th note, not a major scale played half a steb under the major. eg, C major is CDEFGAB, A minor is ABCDEFG. So, the relative minor is a minor scale started 9 semitones above the start of the major scale.

As has been said, a pentatonic is a scale with 2 notes removed. You get major and minor pentatonics (along with other modes), so you can use C major or A minor pentatonic in the key of C major
ProTone Pedals: Attack Overdrive
Fractal Audio: AxeFX 2
Engl: Fireball 60
Zilla: Fatboy 2x12
Carvin: DC700
Carvin: Vader 7
Schecter: KM-7 MKii
Schecter: Banshee 8 Passive
Jackson: DK2M
Last edited by pigeonmafia at Sep 11, 2009,