Ive been playing for five years now. In those five years ive accelerated and decelerated. For a long time guitar was a pain in the ass, despite how hard i worked and my willingness to learn. THEN, i found the way that many people learn early on that makes you a better player. Playing by Ear, ear training, whatever you wanna call it.

I never realized how playing everything you wanna learn by ear is so beneficial. Its like i have relearned the instrument, and i cant believe how quickly my playing has gotten better in just a few months. I know a good chunk of theory, enough to get me by, but i never realized using your ear solely would connect the bridge between theory and feeling.

So what is my method of ear playing? Simple really, all i do is sit down with my guitar next to my Stereo. Flip the radio on, and start trying to play along to every song that comes on. I sometimes switch it up, pop, punk, rock, Genres i have no interest in. But it helps, because i am expanding my brain in so many ways. Not that i learn the whole song in just that one shot, but because i identify the key aspects of the song(No pun intended) I get a better feel for it, and the next time i do listen to the song to really learn it, i nail it.

Its a pretty obvious way to play, but playing random songs one by one IMO is a great way to build your endurance for picking out keys and notes, and help you do it a lot quicker, which is a plus if your on stage.

End Happy rant.
Indeed, ear training is very beneficial. The radio thing is a great way to expand your mind. Keep it up, God bless you man.
I do that sometimes, too. If I happen to be playing and a song comes on TV or radio in the next room, I try to pick out chords, vocal melodies, guitar parts, whatever is there, by ear. It is really helpful
i think i may try this. thank you sir
My gear
Epiphone Les Paul Standard
B-52 LS100 Half Stack
Dunlop SW30 Slash Signature Wah
Digitech Hardwire CR-7 Stereo Chorus
Digitech Hardwire DL-8 Delay/Looper