I'm a beginner guitarist and I find it hard to come up with riffs and stuff, and when I do they sound pretty weak. So my question is, when you get better at playing guitar do you get better at coming up with riffs and songs, or am I just not good at it?

-Alm
No, if you can't instantly come up with an awesome riff you fail at guitar, and you might as well give it up now.

/sarcasm
You do get better the more you try, most of my first attempts were just terrible.

If you're a beginner, the first thing I would say is that you will probably be limited in songwriting by your playing abilities, you will come up with ideas in your head that you will not be able to play.

Also, how much theory do you know? I found that my songwriting ability increased tenfold once I learned just a bit of theory. Just start with basic scales, minor pentatonic, major and minor, if you haven't already.

The only other thing I would say is to just keep trying
Last edited by SilentHeaven109 at Sep 13, 2009,
Also, its never your ability to come up with ideas that gets better- its only your ability to develop those ideas that becomes better.

...and thats a skill you will learn over time
SilentHeaven, your sig has me disgusted, horrified, and cracking up.

Anyway, when you start doing something, you typically suck. After you do it a lot, you get better. There is an excellent chance that you will dramatically improve your songwriting ability over the next few years (yes, it's going to take years, but that's okay).
Yeah, I'm always coming up with riffs and stuff in my head, but I can't play them. Umm, I don't know a ton of theory, I find it rather confusing. But I like learning scales, it's fun to see how fast and accurate I can play them. But I only know 2
Don't smile about that. Learn your theory. The lesson in my sig is a good start. Do NOT try to go through it in one sitting. It's many lectures of an intro college music theory class (MUSIC 101). You don't do that in an hour.