Page 1 of 2
is this a really important technique to learn or is it just some bull**** to make people look cooler then they really are?
Quote by Double Basser
there is no simple instrument, only simple minds
I find it useful, but it is not vital.
Cookie monster genocide my nation! HE MUST DIE MENS

Art is never finished it is only abandoned.

Real mitalhead don't give a f**k if it is Wensday or a dick in the a**
I find it important, because it removes 90% of the feedback. When playing on the A string, the E can resonate terribly making you sound undefined and.... well.... bad
im guessing it would be more important the more strings you have then? like between a 4 string to 6?

EDIT: Also how hard is this technique to get down preety much perfectly?
Quote by Double Basser
Last edited by Lazenby at Sep 14, 2009,
Well, it was easy for me to learn as I used this technique as soon as I started learning bass, but I guess it shouldn't be too hard to learn. It's really easy if you only use it when you're not using the lower strings for some time (usually half a bar or more). When constantly skipping strings, I find it too much of a hassle
Why does your E string resonate when you play your A string? Don't you let your finger pull through the A string when you play it and have it come to rest on the E string to mute it? It really makes it no problem to keep it from vibrating. But back on topic, you don't need to use the floating thumb technique. Using other types of muting such as the one I just described or using your fret hand should take care of any unwanted string vibration. That is, provided you are playing with proper technique.
Fender 5 String Jazz Bass
Fender Precision Bass
Peavey TNT 115
EHX Bass Big Muff Pi
Daneletro Cool Cat OD V2 (excellent pedal)
Paul Reed Smith SE Custom Semi-Hollow
Peavey Classic 30
Vox V845 Classic Wah Pedal
Every teacher Ive ever had has been against floating thumb. They all say to anchor it on the neck pick up