Okay, so I've played guitar for about a year now. I'm not very good but I've got the basics down such as quite a few songs, some scales etc. I'm mainly into hard rock and modern rock bands like The Killers and The Strokes as well as some classic rock. I find it pretty hard to play a lot of this stuff though, so I often end up playing easier acoustic type songs like Jack Johnson and stuff, but I don't really like this type of music. Guns N' Roses are my all time favourite band but I suck at playing any of their songs, are they out of my depth and I should start with simpler stuff and work my way up or is that nonsense?

I'm stressed out about about what to do because I thought that maybe I could start listening to more blues and easier stuff to play like that and then build my way up to hard rock and stuff, but the problem is I don't really like blues that much and so I'm basically wondering: would I get better faster if I started playing easier stuff i.e different genres and songs or should I stick to trying to play hard rock and stuff badly?
Is it better to start with easier genres then work your way up? Because right now I feel like I'm way out of my depth and not making any progress.

Thanks, and sorry if it's confusing.
You are like a hurricane
There's calm in your eye.
And I'm gettin' blown away
To somewhere safer
where the feeling stays.
I want to love you but
I'm getting blown away.
you should like multiple genres of music.. im a hypocrit so yeah.. dont listen to that.

just keep practicing, youll get better, and learn blues, its not all easy (im in a blues band(ishould know))
Quote by element4433
One time I watched a dog lick his own dick for twenty minutes.

Quote by Roc8995
No.

Well, technically it could be done, but only in the same way that you could change a cat into a hamburger. It's an unpleasant process, and nobody is happy with the result.