just a simple question;
since I am very new to the art of shredding, i know i need to practice a WHOLE LOT, VERY SLOWLY in order to be able to play what others would consider a relatively easy shred.

but to all of you guys who are decent, and have been shredding for a while,
if you were to look at a tablature of a shredding riff that you've never seen before, would you still be able to just breeze through the riff with relative ease?

I am asking this because a lot of people have stated that practicing is the only way to improve on shredding, but im not sure if practicing one or two songs will help my overall shredding technique in general...
Learn the technique behind the shredding. Whether it is sweeping or what not? That will make it easier then just learning it from songs, and help you use it in your own music.
Guitars
Prs Custom 24
Fender Jaguar
Gibson Les paul standard dc
Ibanez as71

Amps
Peavey xxx
Crate v-32h/cab

Effects
Dimebag wah
carbon copy
evh phase
blackstart ht-duel
holy grail plus
electric mistress stereo
dd-20
Depends...most shredders have things such as scale shapes, sweep shapes, etc under their fingers, and if this new tab is based around familiar techniques, yes, probably they can, but suppose it has something like a really crazy stretch or some odd time signature or some weird pattern, it could take a while to get comfortable with.
Quote by thelax
but to all of you guys who are decent, and have been shredding for a while,
if you were to look at a tablature of a shredding riff that you've never seen before, would you still be able to just breeze through the riff with relative ease?

I am asking this because a lot of people have stated that practicing is the only way to improve on shredding, but im not sure if practicing one or two songs will help my overall shredding technique in general...

Depends: if it's using a new sweep shape that I havn't practised before, no. If it's techniques and shapes I already know, yes

*edit*