i sold my spider 3 30 watt, and want to sell my epiphone les paul special 2. i have around 300 bucks saved up and i want to get the ibanez art320 which is 450, plus i want a really good amp, which would prob be around that much or more.

im not in a band i dont gig, ive been playing guitar for 2 years and im not the best, i like metalcore, i can play some stuff easy but i cant really solo or sweep and stuff.

Do you guys think its a waste to spend so much this early on? because my family isnt convinced in helping me out...So what do you guys think?

edit: easy as in most as i lay dying and the devil wears prada
Last edited by crimson205 at Sep 15, 2009,
i don't see anything wrong with having a good rig, even if you don't plan on giging with a band

if you have the money and you think it's worth it then you should get a good amp and guitar, maby not a huge amp but something that sound good
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
If youve been playing for two years, the you sound like your not going to stop anytime soon. and that was the biggest scare with my family not helping out. tell them your truly committed and this isnt just a hobby, its a passion. And maybe theyll throw you some spare bones.

But no, a good guitar is helpful at any stage of playing. So is a good amp. Youll learn faster, or youll at least want to play more.
+1 to that guy. If you enjoy it, it's more than worth the money to invest in some good gear, because that'll make you enjoy music ten times more.
Tempus Edux Rerum Sic Transit Gloria Mundi

Check out my band, Prosper! Prog/Metal/Core from Columbus, Ohio.
Have you considered buying used? You can get way more bang for you buck that way. Definitely buy the best gear you can afford, you're investing in yourself.