Okay I'm in a pop punk band. We've got 2 guitars, bass, drums, and 3 vocals (1 lead, 2 background).

I am completely new to recording, all I have is a desktop Windows Vista computer. What are all the things I would need to be able to record my band at home at an affordable price with good sound quality?

My budget is about $800, but if I NEED more, I can probably scrape it up.

Thank you
you will need an interface.
http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/PreSonus-FP10-10x10-FireWire-Interface?sku=242036 (if you've got a firewire port)

a large diaphragm condenser for vocals

bass goes straight in unless you want to try micing it too.

something along these lines for drums
http://pro-audio.musiciansfriend.com/product/Shure-PG-6Piece-Drum-Microphone-Package?sku=270298

and pick up 1 sm57 for guitar cabs and snare.

you can use that kick mic for a bass cab too

that will run you over 800, i'm sure you can get similar things for cheaper, and that's also not factoring in all the mic cables, stands, and pop filters you would need. that's just a basic idea to help you in your hunting.
Check Tweak's Guide.
If you want to track everything live in one take you will need a lot of mics and a large firewire interface.
Normally you can track each instrument one at a time and use a small interface however when tracking acoustic drums you should really use at least 4 mics and so you would want a larger audio interface that wont mix down.

I suggest buying the PreSonus FP10 interface and get a few mics for the drums and amps. A few SM57 mics are good for guitar cabs as well as drums, get yourself two small diaphragm condensers for overheads on the drums to capture the cymbals.
Last edited by moody07747 at Sep 16, 2009,
Recording isnt necessarily always about what people tell you is best, a lot of it is trial and error to find out your 'own' sound.

Granted its pretty universal that an SM57 does really work with Guiitar amps and does really bring out the punch of a snare.