Well I've been playing guitar for about 2 almost 3 years now, I started out playing punk songs, moved on to more complicated metal, and now I like to play dropped C death metal / crust - ish guitar

But I still learn all kinds of different songs, I just want to learn more theories and things so I can become a better guitarist. So if anyone has any tips, any links to lessons or anythings that you think would help a mediocre guitarist improve. Then let me know
Tune to standard and try playing other genres. That usually works for me.

Most of what makes a guitarist "mediocre" is closed-mindedness and unwillingness to try new things.
Q: Favourite Pink Floyd song?
A: The one where they get wicked high and play Emin and A for an hour.
If you are looking to improve your improvisation, one thing that I've discovered recently which I've never used before is backing tracks.
Assuming you know a few scales, if not this should be your first priority , just go onto Youtube and search for "guitar backing track," there are quite a few on there, and just improvise over it, the key will normally be provided, it's sometimes amazing what you can come up with on the spot.
Quote by travislausch
Tune to standard and try playing other genres. That usually works for me.

Most of what makes a guitarist "mediocre" is closed-mindedness and unwillingness to try new things.

Yeah I forgot I do play in standard and dropped, It's not always dropped C it's just that's usually the tuning I use when I write my own material.

And I do play other genres. I dunno the only scale I know is the bflat major I think, I'm not even sure which one it is. Can anyone give me a list of good scales to learn to start off with ?
Quote by Deathloc45
Can anyone give me a list of good scales to learn to start off with ?

If you already know the Bb major, just shift it around the neck to match the key you're in, that's one done.