Poll: What is your picking wrist touching?
Poll Options
View poll results: What is your picking wrist touching?
Body
7 7%
Bridge
22 23%
In the air
27 28%
Strings
11 11%
Depends on what I'm playing
29 30%
Voters: 96.
When you aren't palm-muting or strumming, what is your wrist touching while you pick?
For me it's like, half of my hand is on the bridge, half of it is on the body.
ESP LTD M-100FM Tone Zone (B)/Breed Neck (N) w/ Coil Splits
Fender Electro-Acoustic
Line6 Studio UX2
BOSS DD-6 Digital Delay/DS-1 Distortion Robert Keeley ULTRA Mod
Electro Harmonix Holy Grail Reverb
Dunlop SW-95 Crybaby Slash Wah
In the air. Because my pinky and index finger kinda like "stands" on the body while I pick.
Mine is bridge, which is really impractical as it rubs on my wrist/bottom of hand. Is there a right or wrong way to do this? I've been playing for 8 years but never been told...

I also end up anchoring myself to the guitar by sort of grappling one of the tone controls with my little finger on my strat. This is surely frowned upon...?
MIA 1979 Fender Strat
Epi LP Standard
Squier Strat

Tanglewood

Laney TF300
Fender Frontman 15G

Zoom G1
mine just floats because i like to do alot of open and palm mute mixes so its just a convenience thing for me
✠I use emotion for the many and reserve reason for the few
✠Adolf Hitler✠
It varies. If I'm playing something slow its just in the air, if I'm playing faster I normally use the base of my thumb to mute the lower strings, and if I'm playing nearer the bridge than normal it sometimes rests on/brushes against the bridge I don't think it ever touches the body though - in fact I'm not sure it could reach the body
Quote by zhilla
I don't think it ever touches the body though - in fact I'm not sure it could reach the body

Or on the pickguard above the pickups on a Strat.
Quote by blue_strat
Or on the pickguard above the pickups on a Strat.