My current an only steel strung acoustic is a dreadnought (Yamaha FG700MS). Over the past few months my interest in playing has leaned towards fingerstyle playing eg 'Anji' 'Classical Gas' etc.. and most fingerpicking instrumental tunes. My question to the more experienced players is, should I buy a smaller bodied steel strung guitar or do some of you still use a dreadnought for this type of play? Are there any "set rules" per se regarding playing style and guitar body size?

Many thanks.
Last edited by return2guitar at Sep 18, 2009,
there are no set rules. i've been fingerpicking for over 40 years, and i've done it on every shape of guitar there is. in fact, i currently fingerpick on a seagull s6, which is a dread. the only rules are your own:

what feels best to you (narrower necks are less comfortable for some people to fingerpick with)

what sounds good to you.

if it sounds good and feels comfortable, those are the only things that matters. that being said, when i spent more than a couple hours on a narrower neck, the position it forced me into damaged my wrist and elbow, so be sure you really ARE comfortable playing whatever guitars you play the most.
Quote by patticake
there are no set rules. i've been fingerpicking for over 40 years, and i've done it on every shape of guitar there is. in fact, i currently fingerpick on a seagull s6, which is a dread. the only rules are your own:

what feels best to you (narrower necks are less comfortable for some people to fingerpick with)

what sounds good to you.

if it sounds good and feels comfortable, those are the only things that matters. that being said, when i spent more than a couple hours on a narrower neck, the position it forced me into damaged my wrist and elbow, so be sure you really ARE comfortable playing whatever guitars you play the most.