Page 1 of 2
Ok so I'm a total noob and the only pickups I know that are good for metal are active EMG's. And from what I've heard active pickups sound like crap through anything but a tube amp. So I was wondering, are there any good PASSIVE pickups for metal, that would sound good on say, a Peavey Vypyr 30 or something along those lines ?
Gear:
Yamaha F310 acoustic
Ibanez RGR321ex
Peavey Vypyr 30
Pretty much any humbucker that's not in a £20 guitar. Well, you get my point.
Quote by Todd Hart
Shooting your friends with a real gun is a definite faux pas.

Quote by mystical_1
Professor Plum in the Studio with a new Amp

Quote by snipelfritz
If only I were the only one at home right now. I don't need my parents asking who Mr. Wiggles is.
any pickup can sound good for metal, all it really is is just distortion, its the effect added that do it, most base humbuckers sound fine
Guitars:
Jackson JS30KE Kelly
Jackson RRX10D
Fender Telecaster American Standard
Epiphone Acoustic
Amps:
Vox DA15
Marshall G80RCD
Pedals:
Boss GT-6
Boss MT-2
Everything you said there was wrong... lol...

Active pickups not only sound bad through tube amps, they sound bad through everything. EMG's are not the only good metal pickup, damn near anything with a reasonably high output should do metal pretty well. I recommend dimarzio's, they have a nice feel and a good selection.
I have a pair of SD AHB-1s that have never let me down.
Quote by wesselbindt
Look at what your fav metal artists use.

...Active EMG's
Gear:
Yamaha F310 acoustic
Ibanez RGR321ex
Peavey Vypyr 30
Quote by enselmis

Active pickups not only sound bad through tube amps, they sound bad through everything.

Wut?

Nothing wrong with actives, at all. I actually have a EMG 60 that does really nice cleans as well, and 81/85 combos are used by so many people for a reason.