yeah so im not experienced at all in recording and im looking to get myself started.

http://www.guitarcenter.com/Apple-MacBook-Pro-Pro-Tools-Recording-Package-502349-i1460841.gc

that bundle caught my attention. i need a laptop for school and they prefer macs for whatever reason. so mainly will this bundle get me started on recording? is it missing important necessities? i dont see a mic on there, besides the one built into the mac, and im not gonna plan on using it.

as you can see im trying to get the best of both worlds thing going on.
Last edited by NickGranger at Sep 19, 2009,
It's overkill. Big time.

Firstly you don't need Pro Tools. Sure it's handy, but I'd stick to Reaper for the first year or so, and then when you're used to recording you can decide if you really need it.

Secondly those KRKs are awsome for the price, however if you're just begining I wouldn't quite fork out on proper monitors yet. Use some HiFi speakers until you're sure you want to keep this up.

Thirdly, you don't have to use a Mac. Windows is grand. If you've been using Macs all your life, fine, it'll be for the better, but don't assume that just because you're recording you have to get a Mac (Jon Hopkins).
Quote by Tombe
With pedals you can throw your guitar down for an impromptu pedal drone solo, whereas if you did that on a rack it would just look like you were programming your washing machine.
so do you have any recommendations on any packages that come with everything i need for recording?

im not to worried on the laptop because those im not too confused about, just the software and all the tools i would need