Hello all, I have been playing guitar for a few years. I started out as one of those guys who wanted an electric guitar and to become a rock star, and played electric guitar, but I never really knew anything about guitar and making my own music. I just played tabs of songs I liked. Anyways on to my point. I started playing acoustic and haven't touched my electric in like a year, I've gotten pretty good and have written many songs on my acoustic (I'm off tabs now, just doesn't interest me to play other ppl songs) so anyways, I recently decided I want to play my electric again. I just picked it up and plugged it in. The tone I'm hearing is horrible. I have no idea how to change amp setting to make it the best sound, I have no idea what most of the knobs do. I have a Fender Strat Deluxe (MIM) and a Fender HotRod Deluxe 40 Watt Tube Amp. It just sounds dull and muddy when I play, and because I know nothing about electric guitar, I just have no idea what to change. Here's my possibilities of what I think might be wrong:
The guitar is no good? (bad pickups, idk?)
The amp is no good?
The tubes are worn out and need replaced?

But I really don't know what to change, and just looking for suggestions... Anyways, the reason I posted that whole explanation is, I don't want you guys to think of me as a total guitar noob, just one who knows nothing about electric guitar and settings

So my question is, what is the most likely problem that I am experiencing the amped guitar sounding really dull and muddy (this is on the clean channel)? Is this what a amp will sound like when it needs new tubes? Is it maybe a problem with just my knobs settings? ANY HELP APPRECIATED! Thanks!
the tube may need replacing but first of all let the tubes seriously warm up before you play and then play for a few days, if the problem persists change the tubes, i hadn't played my electric for over a year and it took a few days for the amp to sound good