Ive been playing for about 3 months and i can only play the F chord fluently at about 66 BPM.
so im just wondering if im progressing at a good rate with my E barre shapes and i wanna compare so please post how long it took you from the very first time you pick up the guitar to the point where you fluently had your f chord at lets say 112+BPM.
(112 is my goal. been working on the fshape for about 3weeks)
Last edited by Hullucinate at Sep 20, 2009,
It took me a while to get barre chords down, and F was the hardest cos it's right at the nut. I don't remember how long exactly.

If you can't get it down, why not just use a power chord as a sort of "abbreviation" of the full F chord?

Or just play the bottom 4 strings, with one finger per note:
e----
B----
G--2-
D--3-
A--3-
E--1-
well i dont want to take the easy way out..i want to be able to play what ever comes up on the sheet music..
and IMO i dont see power chords as real chords...but i know nothing of theory so take with a grain of salt
Last edited by Hullucinate at Sep 20, 2009,
It took me about a month of practicing maybe 30 minutes every day or so. The main thing you'll have trouble with is barring the string though, so try just barring over the entire first fret at first, and once you have enough strength to do that, add the rest of the fingers in, and then try practicing switching to and from F major from and to other chords. And yeah, I agree with what you're saying about power chords not being real chords (even though I think they are).
Gear:
Schecter Hellraiser Deluxe
Boss DS-1
Crate GTD65

GAS List:
Mesa Boogie Dual Rectifier Roadster
A few years of playing to play it fluently in everything I see it in.

But with practice on the F in a certain piece a few minutes working on it after a year-ish.