So, I have a '96 Vista Series Jagmaster that has been beat to hell and back, and recently it has not been working when plugged in. I'm having a friend that used to work for a luthier and did repair work look at it soon. I imagine it's nothing, but this got me thinking, "What if I make it a project to build my own guitar?"

So, I have a few questions that I was wondering if you could answer. I have always wanted a Jazzmaster or Jaguar (mostly a jazzmaster), which is why I got the Jagmaster. Is it possible to fit the 24" neck on a Warmoth Jazzmaster body, or is that just dumb? Would it be better to get a universally routed Jaguar body and put P-94s in it? Or, if I go for the Jag, should I just stay away from P-90s? What pups would you recommend for the Jag?

I will be having my friend's help through this whole project.

Also, finish-wise, what do you think would look best? I'm thinking silver sparkle with a white pickguard. Or maybe surf green or daphne blue. Do you have anything that may look better?

Again, this is only a thought, but I would appreciate some input from you. Good idea? Bad idea? It will be used to play just about everything from some bluesy stuff to shoegaze to . . . well, everything except metal and -core.
Daphne blue with tortoise guard.

And why not go for SD P-Rails? HB, P-90, and Rail (strat-ish) all in one PU. Seems like they'd go nicely in a Jagmaster...
Daphne blue is really my second choice, but after seeing a silver sparkle Supersonic, it's really hard to think about anything other than that.

And I didn't think of the P-Rails, mainly because I've been trying to figure out if it was possible to fit the neck in a Jazz body. It seems like since it would be from scratch, my friend and I could work around and not deal with the issues that one would get from putting a 24" neck in an already set up body.