I am majoring in music in school and have a Performance class. I have to pick either guitar or bass as my instrument(I narrowed down a bunch of others). For the class, you have to play in an ensemble, take lessons, and perform some stuff for the class. I want to pick an instrument and really get to know it inside and out and work on mastering it through school. Here are reasons for each instrument:

Guitar: I like to play melodic stuff and really like to listen to what is being played and how it fits the song emotionally. I like to play slow stuff and relax while playing. I have Pro equipment for my guitar already and like how my set-up sounds. I find it more of a fun instrument to play in most genres and want to be in a band.

Bass: I only have a 20W amp so playing in a band would be difficult until I upgrade. Though I like to play guitar, I really like playing some cool basslines like "Joy Ride" by The Killers. I also like to slap and pop. I find that there aren't as many bassists around and I'm usually the kind of guy that will play whatever and this is how I ended up with my bass.The styles I like to play bass to are kind of dance funk and stuff like that, but I also like metal and pop rock stuff too where the basslines aren't as fun.

Additional stuff: I listen to all kinds of music like Slayer, Metallica, Fall Out Boy, All Time Low, RHCP, Rancid, Bad Religion, etc. I want to start a band and base it off a today's style of music.

What instrument do you think I should keep as my main one(I can give you more info if you need)?
I mean, it's not like you have to stop the other. I chose guitar over bass but I still play bass all the time. I think it'd be cool to see you do bass since not many people do it. And metal and pop rock don't have to be simple and boring, make it cool. The players just so happen to not be that skilled or theoretically informed IMO.
Winner of the 2011 Virginia Guitar Festival

Protools HD
Lynx Aurora 16/HD192