Hey, the other day I got an Epiphone SG G-400 used for just $220, including a case. It's amazing so far, except for a couple things.

1- gets muddy with any distortion. I think this is my amp (****-tacular 15-watt that came with my Squier), so probably not guitar-related. But I'm no expert.
2- The tone knobs seem to do very little to the overall tone, with or without distortion. The volume knobs seems to be the only ones that do anything.

Anyone else experience this, or have solutions/explanations to offer?
I don't know whether to be joyous or sorrowful after hearing that lol...

Nothing wrong with the guitar, but I have to get a new amp. Daaayyyyyyummm.

Whatever, I've been thinking of upgrading for a while. Anyone have a suggestion? I don't need loud, I want something small and portable that has good sound quality. Preferably pretty cheap too.
Yes, this is all your amp. I play my Epiphone G-400 live and I pretty much don't touch my amp setting (other than volume) through the whole show and I get sooooo many different tones out of it it's really incredible. Just learn to use the pickup selector and volume knobs as well as the tone knob. I switch pickups usually at least onece a song, and I am constantly adjusting my tone knobs and volume knobs. My setup is the stock guitar through a crate half too. Check out our myspace page if you want to get an idea of the variety I am talking about.
www.myspace.com/apenatural (no, this is not promoting my band, I am just trying to give him an example of how many different tones you van get out of this guitar).
Last edited by Ape_Natural at Sep 21, 2009,
sick, thanks for the info. I've been looking around to see the kinds of tones I can get out of this.

any amp suggestions?
Last edited by Insaneguy75 at Sep 21, 2009,
Quote by Insaneguy75
Hey, the other day I got an Epiphone SG G-400 used for just $220, including a case. It's amazing so far, except for a couple things.