So i've been playing bass guitar for about 6 months now. Im about to buy a new bass, and have a price range of up to $400. What should i get? And also whats a bass without an amp? What amp should i look into? And i want my bass sound to be distinctive, so are there any really cool pedals or anything out there i should look into? Any help is greatly appreciated.
You should for sure drop $400 on an amp before you buy a new bass.

A crap bass will sound OK through a good amp,
but a good bass will sound meh through a crap amp.

What do you play? Be SPECIFIC. Metal? Punk? Funk? It doesn't matter if you play Blink 182, Rush, Avenged Sevenfold, Metallica, and Red Hot Chili Peppers, the more we know from you, the better our advice can be.

In the $400-$600 range for amps there are typically two suggestions, Acoustic Amplification for a transparent tone (amp affects tone less, a "cleaner" sound, so to speak) and Ashdown MAG series for a colored tone (amp makes tone sound almost a specific way) (this is hard to explain, the difference between transparent and colored, somebody else should chime in and do a better job).

There are other brands in this range too (I suppose maybe Peavey, Hartke, Ampeg, etc., but Acoustic and Ashdown are most recommended on this forum for this range).
Lord Gold feeds from your orifices and he wants to see you sweat.
Lord Gold probes you publicly and makes your pussy wet.
Now say his name.....
i agree about the amp. i also want to point out that a distinctive tone isn't about effects - it's about how you play and what you dial in on your bass and your amp. it will also be affected by which speakers you use in what conjunction with what head.

sure, the right effects and settings together can create a sound that is distinctly yours, but it doesn't sound like you know exactly how you want to sound.
Last edited by patticake at Sep 21, 2009,