well...
earlier today i guy i know came to me in school and asked me if i was interested to join his mate's band (with original music influenced by funk, reaggae, blues, jazz, rock... )

my role there would be playing trombone...

now i don't really have a clue what kind of parts does trombone play in such genres...
... I imagine i would play the reaggae offbeat or something like that.. background melodies to create a harmony.. whatever. am i atleast aiming in the right direction?

there are a drummer, bassist and a guitarist in this band. The only thing that bothers me is the fact that they are way more expirienced than me.. they're all "pros" and i'm just a trombone student (in 4th grade right now)

it would really be helpful if you could give me some tips, some motivation whatever

thanks in advice UG!
Quote by Moggan13
Serjem is like a Bishops testicals: Swollen
ಠ_ಠ
IIIIfb * KARKOLI * ytIIII(mostly rock... a little funky, a little hard just the way you want it )
You don't understand how trombone fits into Jazz or Funk? Melodies. I've played trombone for 8 years and I'm majoring on it. It's basically one of the strongest leading brass.

Come on, guitar isn't the ONLY instrument in the word.

Piano is.
breaking hearts
&
breaking guitars
indeed i do understand the guitar is not the greatest instrument...

i'veplayed flute for 10 years ( i still am) and trombone for 4 years.. but i've never tried it out in genres like that... but i'd love to.. i'm just looking for some tips how to... (my teacher couldnt tell me anything, because he's only into the classics :/
Quote by Moggan13
ಠ_ಠ
IIIIfb * KARKOLI * ytIIII(mostly rock... a little funky, a little hard just the way you want it )
if you've been playing flute for 10 years...and you're only in 4th grade....how OLD are you?
Quote by evening_crow