Me and my dad finished building this 2x12 a few weeks ago and we designed it to have a very large internal volume which should have been great for a good cage-rattling bass but even with bass turned up all the way on my H&K Switchblade, it still doesn't pulse through my chest as much as I thought it would. I was expecting it to be like sitting next to a sub on your home theater system. Did we do something wrong? The only explanations I can think of are:

- We did something wrong

-H&K Switchblade has little bass to start with

-Bad pickups (I have to use the neck pickup because the other ones are single coil and sound like poop on high gain)

-Old tubes? (it's a used amp and I just started playing it recently so I don't really know it's background very well)

Is there anything we can do?

Another thing I noticed about the cab is that when I sit directly in front of the speakers, it doesn't sound as good as if I sit on the side of the cab. Is this normal?

I think I should go test my theories on why there seems to be little bass by going to guitar center with both the head and the cab and try them both with different amps/cabs. That way I'll find out what the real problem is. I really hope that it's the head's fault because then I can just put a EQ pedal in front of it.

Also, would an EQ pedal or an overdrive pedal help me get what I'm looking for here? I know what an EQ pedal does but an overdrive pedal still confuses me, I guess I'll have to try one out for myself.
Last edited by gtrplyr at Sep 22, 2009,
I use a H&K Switchblade and it definitely doesn't suffer a lack of low-end (in fact, I often had sound guys asking me to turn down the bass before I became more accustomed to the amp's nuances!) though the H&K VC412 cab did contribute to it.