So im just starting to learn about intervals. Some of teh stuff makes sense, but otehr stuff doesn't. My teacher gave me some hoomework. im not asking for answers, just help.

one is "what is minor sixth of C?'

so going up major scale, i get to A as the sixth. I would lower that a half step to make it minor right?

So would the m6 of C be Ab?
The intervals from the tonic in a major scale are:

Tonic, M2, M3, P4, P5, M6, M7 or C, D, E, F, G, A, B

So like you said, A is the Major 6th and Ab is the Minor 6th.
I'm also going to post in this topic:

I do not get intervals, people say it's a must for learning by ear but I don't really see how, I don't get NOTHING about this interval stuff, so any links would be appreciated
Quote by nathanlamb01098
Would it be Ab or G# and why?

In this case it would be Ab because of the relationship to the tonic.

A is the sixth note from the tonic and

G is the fifth note from the tonic.

You are looking for a sixth so you say Ab
If you were to be looking for a Augmented Fifth you'd say G#,
But you wanted a sixth so Ab it is.

Though they are actually just the same (enharmonicaly).

EDIT:
@CLFOBucket: Because music is made out of intervals, if you knew how every interval sounded and how to play it on your instrument you could play any music by ear.

www.musictheory.net for an ear trainer and theory

You just learn to recognize all the intervals and they will start to pop up in the music your listening.
Last edited by oxokoning at Sep 22, 2009,
Quote by oxokoning
In this case it would be Ab because of the relationship to the tonic.

A is the sixth note from the tonic and

G is the fifth note from the tonic.

You are looking for a sixth so you say Ab
If you were to be looking for a Augmented Fifth you'd say G#,
But you wanted a sixth so Ab it is.

Though they are actually just the same (enharmonicaly).

EDIT: