Poll: Which amp is better?
Poll Options
View poll results: Which amp is better?
Ashdown MAG
16 67%
Carvin SBR410
8 33%
Voters: 24.
Hi, my band is doing our first show soon, and its my first time playing bass on stage.
For the show i need a good amp for small and medium gigs. I'v narrowed it down to these two amps. Can you guys tell me which amp you think is better for me?
If it helps, i play Thrash/Hardcore/Metalcore/Etc. If you think a certain amp is better for, please tell why you think so.

Thanks in advance,
Noreee

P.S. Here are the links to the two amps

Ashdown MAG C410T-300 EVO II Bass Combo Amp
http://bass-guitars.musiciansfriend.com/product/Ashdown-MAG-C410T300-Combo-Bass-Amp?sku=485034

SBR410 600W 410 BASS HALF-STACK
http://www.carvinguitars.com/products/single.php?product=SBR410

P.S.
If there's an amp you could recommend that's not one of these two, please tell also
Thanks
Last edited by Noreee at Sep 23, 2009,
Dude iv got the Ashdown mag300 amp but in head and cabinet, its so awesome. I also play same genres as you as well as others too and it sounds great for all of them, built in compressor is great if thats you thing, me likes :P Id advise you get the head and cab version over the combo version though, better for sure, more variety and more noise. Iv done small to medium gigs and its provided ample sound for me.

Cant speak for the carvin, no experience.
Anyone got opinions on this? I'm very interested in an opinion or caparison as well...I noticed the wattage for the carvin head increased when the ohms were divided by 2? isnt it supposed to go the other way?
I've heard that the ashdown has a very warm tone, and people prefer it for rock.

Carvin however, is very transparent, and I'd take that any day. I personally like a more clean, mid sound for metal, but that's just me. I don't really know what tone you want, and thus I voted for carvin.

Quote by ExurKun