In most cases I dislike using picks, but I've been trying to learn some Tool songs and I think a pick would help. My question is whether I should get medium or heavy gauge. Any suggstions would be appreciated.
Try a light too. Like a .50, I've been using those for 3 years now.
Peavey 6505+
Fender Hot Rod Deville 410
Fender Telecaster Blacktop
Gretsch G5120
I use a Tortex Sharp 1.14mm and a Tortex .88mm mostly, the .88 is easier to speed pick with
Quote by RPGoof
I've killed many, many people.
They respawn though

Quote by the humanity
jazz bass.

t-bird is muddy inversatile, and reminds me of emo chicks.

Current rig: Peavey Millennium 5 - Drive B15

To buy: Ampeg BA112 or BA115
Quote by cal1
I use a Tortex Sharp 1.14mm and a Tortex .88mm mostly, the .88 is easier to speed pick with

I use Tortex 1.14 as well.
Guitars
· Ibanez PF · Washburn WG-248 · Ibanez S520Ex
· Ibanez BTB455
· Schecter Studio 5
Amp & Accessories
· Peavey Valveking 212
· Carvin BX1200
· · TraceElliot 1028H
· · Custom 1x15 Eminence

· · Carvin BRX4.10
It feels weird for me to play with a guage more than 1mm... And I play metal and rock in general. Be careful it's not too light a pick you're using though, it's nice to have some resistance.
Baaaaaaazz
Quote by cal1

i agree on the .88's they seem to be my holy grail them and the tortex .50's are pretty good i use one especially on Green Day-Panic song as i feel i can hold it much better at the start with the .50 and it sounds more trebly to an extent.

But the bes thing to do is buy a load of random guages then try em all out playing a few riffs use em till you find one that fits and stick with it.But .88's bout the best its a perfect balance its not too heavy and not too light imo.(use it as a base mark :P)
Guitar Gear
Guitar: Ibanez GRG140 (black)
Amp:Peavey Vypyr 75

Bass Gear
Bass: Fender P-bass MIM,Peavey Millenium 5 BXP (x2),Epiphone Thunderbird
Amp:Ampeg PF500 w PF210 cab
Pedals: ODB-3,Big Muff.