Guys, I want to learn how to play slap bass, I've watched a couple videos and in all those vids, the instructor goes" Lol, all you have to do is hit the string with your thumb and pop with your index fingah... Boomckikapowwowfunkalunk."

I've tried doing that.. for a while.. And all I ever get is POP. so tell me Bass players, what the hell am I doing wrong? Is it me, or is it the guitar, amp, or something else?

i know all about octaves from watching said videos, but other than that I haven't learned much
An argument is more than a series of contradictions.
honestly the exact same thing happened to me when i started playing bass. my advice is to just keep practicing and dont give up. youll get it eventually
My Gear:

Fretless Squier P Bass
Ibanez SR400QM
Gallien Krueger 1001RB
Traynor TC410
Digitech Whammy
Boss DD-7
i had the same problem, i practiced Slap/Pop(for about 6months) before i could start to do it, and i can only slap/pop on my jackson, on my thunderbird i can only slap and it doesn't sound nearly as well
Quote by bassist_E1337
i had the same problem, i practiced Slap/Pop(for about 6months) before i could start to do it, and i can only slap/pop on my jackson, on my thunderbird i can only slap and it doesn't sound nearly as well

Yeah, only some basses are suited for slap/pop. I tried it on a Rickenbacker 4003 and it was not cooperating well.
I play a Washburn XB400, suitable? or am I wasting my time?
An argument is more than a series of contradictions.
You can slap just about anything, but thats no guarantee itll sound decent. When I started I could pop but not slap without muting it. Then, one day, I could slap properly without too much hassle. My advice is to stop worrying about your gear and stick with it. It'll come eventually.
Quote by LordBishek
Vibrators, Schmibrators. They can't ignore my girth.