k ive been playing guitar for about 4 years.

and ive been playing standardized tuning since i got my guitar. havent ever had interest in bands with dropped tuning.

but i started up with this band and my friend who is our other guitarist plays droped always.
so i do it to go along with his work and im fine by it.

problem is that all my techniques and ways of playing are all based on standard tuning and its pretty strange to me when i try to compose something in drop cause it dont feel right to me.

now is this normal or is there something i should start shredding to?
Quote by Alexxx.
What tuning have you dropped too?

he probably means a dropped d or drop c or whatever..

i know how you feel dude.. i went the other way.. hehehe.. and then i got a 7 stringer and now play in standard.. it takes a while but you'll get used to it man
If he's playing in dropped d, play in d standard.
If he's playing in drop c, play in c standard.

The only difference is that you can't play the exact same frets to play the same riff, but that makes for boring music, so you wouldn't end up doing that anyway.
[IMG]http://i2.photobucket.com/albums/y5/Fuzzycows5157/canada.bmp[/IMG]
Quote by DJ_Inferno2000
he probably means a dropped d or drop c or whatever..

i know how you feel dude.. i went the other way.. hehehe.. and then i got a 7 stringer and now play in standard.. it takes a while but you'll get used to it man

tuning is in drop A

my friend just got an ibanez 7 string and hes been playing drop C for a long while

so its taking some time for me to adjust with it. right now im just playing with it and im just trying to get the hang of trying to improv with it. tho it feels weird. i catch myself doing a powerchord every now and then. its just a mental wall i have to break i guess but idk
It's not that hard to transpose.
Just remember your bottom string is two frets over.
You'll get used to it.