i started playing the guitar about a year ago but have been using classical .
i thought of buying an electric one .
but there's one question and i really need to know the answer .
DOes the type of guitar affect the style of music you play ?
i mean i thought of buyin' and Ibanez .
i listen to like slipknot and stuff .
but i wanna play stuff like sweet child o' mine ...
will it sound the same on a les paul as on an Ibanez ?
Maybe guitars ain't my thing . I'll try the cello .
I've played blues and indie on an Ibanez. An S series as well, which is a metal guitar.

I've also played metal on an SSS Ash Strat with warm low output Alnico II pickups.

So, no. A guitar is just a tool. How you use it is up to you.
Sunn O))):
Quote by Doppelgänger
You could always just sleep beside your refrigerator.

Guitar:
- Ibanez S670FM w/ JB
- Fender 'Lite Ash' Stratocaster
- Fender '72 Deluxe Telecaster
- Arbiter LP Jr. Doublecut
Amp:
- Laney VC15

'72 Tele Appreciation Group
RIP DIO
There's nothing stopping you from playing any genre on any guitar. You can play death metal on a big old Gibson ES-135 and you can play blues on a B.C.Rich Warlock if you really wanted to. Of course they'll sound different and may in fact sound completely inappropriate, but it's not like they're completely different instruments or anything.

However if you are after a specific tone, you will need a guitar that is at least roughly in the right ballpark, as well as an appropriate amplifier. You can't get the Sweet Child O' Mine tone (mahogany Les Paul, humbucker pickups, Marshall valve amp) if you're using an ESP super-Strat made of ash with single coil pickups through a Fender solid state amp. On the other hand, a Gibson SG through an Orange valve amplifier could still get close to the tone of the LP/Marshall vlave amp, as they're all very similar.

So... yeah. you can technically play anything on anything, but whether it will actually sound as good as it should or not is another matter.