I just started playing about 3 months ago, and feel i have learned a bit so far. I really ultimately want to be playing blues guitar mostly.

What scales, chords, etc should i be practicing to make this better.

Also, i have a dual humbucker guitar at the moment...and i was wondering for blues, what type of guitar setup, pickup wise, is reccomended for the best sound.
In your position I wouldn't worry about the sound, learning to play is more important. For blues the pentatonic scale of course...

There are vids in youtube that give advice how to play blues etc.
I live near Lake Bodom WORSHIP MEEEEEEE

Quote by Sami Philadelph
LOL, for some reason the impression I get from you is like some wacky Frank Zappa of metal pulling pranks at the Grammys and telling crude jokes during interviews.
Quote by henkka_potku
In your position I wouldn't worry about the sound, learning to play is more important. For blues the pentatonic scale of course...

Reason i was wondering, is the wife is asking what i want for christmas. Was just wondering if like a HSS or SSS style pickups would be better for getting that bluesy sound so i can tell her what to look for.
Quote by mauler5858
Reason i was wondering, is the wife is asking what i want for christmas. Was just wondering if like a HSS or SSS style pickups would be better for getting that bluesy sound so i can tell her what to look for.

Ultimately, when I think of blues, I think of a strat. However I think a Gibson ES-335 has the most gorgeous sound for blues when distorted and if the player can play it right.

You just got to look at what your favorite players play. You can eventually buy a different guitar to get a different sound.

BB King played a Gibson Semi Hollow (ES-335, Gibson and Epiphone both have his sig)
Hendrix played strats and a few Gibsons
SRV played strats
Clapton played Les Pauls, Firebirds, ES-335s, SGs, (and an explorer at one point).
Telecasters have been used before.