ive been thinking about buying a bass, but i dont have enough to buy a good one with a good amp. so can i just use my guitar amp? i have some sort of peavey bandit model. i dont plan on playing live; im just a hobbyist.
well ive heard that its not too bad as long as you dont turn it up too loud. is that true?
Do Not Do It!
refer to the bass faq sticky for further info
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
No, it's not true about the volume thing, it's all about the wattage. It takes a hell of alot more wattage to make bass tones than guitar tones, you'll actually just pump too much energy to the speaker, no matter what volume. ie, guitar amps go up to about 200 watts for the loudest I've ever seen. In contrast, I've seen a bass amp that's 4000 watts. Think about the effects that would have on a 30 watt practice amp, you'd destroy it if you pumped the bass through it.
Gear:
Fender Hot Rod Deville 2x12
Custom Built Guitar (made it myself)
PRS SE Soapbar II Maple
Fender Stratacoustic (Stolen! )
Digitech RP200
Boss MT-2
Roland Microcube
I like my stuff!
Quote by mogan777
well my amps 100 watts and the volume knob never goes above 2 at home

aside from damaging the amp it will sound like **** due to it not being able to handle the lower frequencies
Warning: The above post may contain lethal levels of radiation, sharp objects and sexiness.
Proceed with extreme caution!
You'd be fine with a bass speaker.

With a guitar speaker it's going to lack the bass response to properly reproduce the lows of a bass. This will eventually damage the speaker. It's caused by both the longer scale and the lower tuning, which is why an 8 string guitar won't cause the same issues. With a bass speaker you'll only be limited in volume, it would be fine for bedroom playing but anything louder will make the amp distort and sound muddy.
No gods, no countries, no masters.
More guitar, less Ultimate-Guitar.