Hi. I'm new to bass playing (usual story of a guitarist who started to wonder). and while my playing is pretty good I'm having trouble getting a decent tone.

I play mainly anternative music (experimental things like post rock and indie). I'm trying to get a tone thats quite sharp sounding and clear but also bassey and distored. Not a trebley twang or as excessive bass rumble.

I play a Squier 70's Jazz bass though an Ashdown perfect 10 with a Zoom B2 pedal and a RokTeck 6 band EQ. So although my sounds is limited through this, the zoom pedal does help quite a lot and has decent EQ and noise reduction functions.

Any help anyone can offer on this would be great. I know theres gonna be loads of of people who wanna have a go at my gear or something else but I'm just asking for a bit of help as a starting point for getting tones.

Thanks
To get sharp high end cleans and distorted bottom end, you'll either need to buy a James LoMenzo OD pedal so you can select the OD range and then get you're EQ right. Or dual amp...
All I want is for everyone to go to hell...
...It's the last place I was seen before I lost myself

Quote by DisarmGoliath
You can be the deputy llamma of the recordings forum!
was hoping for something i can do with the gear i already have. i also dint really understand the difference between roundwound and flatwound strings (tone not production method) but i do hear people talking about the difference strings make.
Roundwound gives a more trebly harsher sound compared to flatwounds, which give off a very dull, warm thumpy sound tone. For a comparison, listen to Rex Brown (who used roundwounds) and James Jamerson (who used flatwounds).
Quote by skater dan0
Damn you and your ninja-like modding
If you're using flatwounds, I would switch to roundwounds, as you'll struggle otherwise to get the bright tone you describe.