Ok, so I've been playing guitar for about 10 years, since I was 15. From the moment I picked up the guitar and learnt to play, till today, I've had a problem with my left hand cramping, while attempting barre chords. Now, I can play them alright, I can play Sitting On The Dock of The Bay going up and down the frets (G->B->C->B->Bb->A) well and without any buzzing and all chords sounding well, but I can only play it once a day, otherwise the pain in my hand gets way, way too much and I have to stop playing altogether.

I've had this problem for ages and have tried changing my technique for clamping down when barring, but this hasn't really helped all that much. I was just wondering if there's any specific stretches or workouts I could do when not playing to strengthen the muscles I should be using? I've asked this question before, and people have just said 'play through the pain and it'll get easier as your hand strengthens', but as I said I've been playing 10 years and it's pretty much not changed at all.

It's irritating, because I love playing, but any time I start to learn a new song, if there's an awkward barre-chord (not F or Gm! I don't have much problem with either of them), I either have to rearrange it to find the chord somewhere else, or find an alternative chord, or just not practise and play the song as much as I'd like. The problem with that is every now and again I want to play a song that I love that is a progression of Gm->Bb->Dm(on the 5th)->F->Eb. To even attempt to rearrange that has caused me a headache, so I'd prefer to stop avoiding the problem and instead try and fix it.

If anyone knows of stretches or exercises that I can do to fix this, or of good websites that have examples of what I can do, I'd really, really appreciate it.Thanks all. (I've an acoustic Gibson by the way)